Folktales

. . . a taste of myths, stories, legends, and other traditional tales from around the world and through the ages.

for Thursday 2/25/21, the final tale, thanks for listening, posted 2/19/21Saudi Arabia – The Night Empty of All Stories

Thursday 2/18/21England – The Wise Men Of Gotham

Thursday 2/11/21Germany  – THE ENCHANTED QUILL

Thursday 2/4/21France – The Magic Thread

Thursday 1/28/21Zimbabwe – The Tortoise Who Flew

Thursday 1/21/21U.S. – The Dog And The Macho Pick – Up Truck

Thursday 1/14/21Turkey – Three Lemons

Thursday 1/7/21Andes – The Frog And The Condor

for Thursday, 12/31/20 posted 1/1/21The Little New Year

Thursday 12/24/2Ireland – The Purple Jar

Thursday 12/17/20Japan – The Hare Of Inaba

Thursday 12/10/20Russia – The Fool Of The World And the Flying Ship

Thursday 12/3/20Bangladesh – The Jackfruit

Thursday 11/26/20 posted 11/27/20Ghana – Why The Lizard Moves His Head Up And Down

for Thursday 11/19/20 posted 11/27/20Denmark – The Tinder BoxThursday 11/12/20

U.S. – Tiktok And The Nome King

for Thursday 11/5/20 posted 11/12/20

Zimbabwe -Children Of Wax

Thursday 10/29/20

Chile – The Magic Of This World

Thursday 10/22/20

Haiti – Wheeeeai!

for Thursday 10/15/20 posted 10/16/20 Japan – The Great Wave Off Kanagawa

For Thursday 10/8/20 posted 10/13/20 India – Great Joy The Ox

Thursday 10/1/20 Denmark – The Girl Clad In Mouse SkinThursday

Thursday 9/24/20U.S. – Sandburg- How They Broke Away To Go To The Rootabaga Country

Thursday 9/17/20  Poland – The White Eagle Crest

For Thursday 9/10/20  posted 9/11/20  100 mph winds and no electricity.  Sorry for the delay. Mexico – Papila – El Grito de Delores

Thursday 9/3/2  Folktalefare · England (Cornwall) – The Mermaid’s Comb

for Thursday 8/27/20  Folktalefare · Sweden – The Troll In The Ditch

for Thursday 8/20/2  Folktalefare · Japan – The Battle Of The Monkey And The Crab

for Thursday 8/13/20  Folktalefare · Mexico – La Mariposa

Thursday 8/06/2  Folktalefare · Hungary – The Gypsy Woman And The Devil

Thursday 7/30/20  Folktalefare · Saudi Arabia – The Prince and the Large and Lonely Tortoise

Thursday 7/23/20  Folktalefare · U.S. (Utah) – Clarence Jones

For Thursday 7/16/20 (posted 7/23/20)  Folktalefare · The Birth of Krishna

for Thursday 7/09/20 (posted 7/08/20) Folktalefare · Scotland – The Beekeeper And The Bewitched Hare

for Thursday 7/02/20 (posted 7/08/20  Folktalefare · Poland – Smok, the Wawel Dragon

Thursday 6/25/20  Folktalefare · Gambia – Penda Who Could Not Be Shamed

Thursday 6/18/20  Folktalefare · Asia – The Pumpkin In A Jar and Weighing An Elephant

Thursday 6/11/20  Folktalefare · U.S. (southwest) – Fabiano And Reyes

for Thursday 6/4/20 (posted 6/1/20)  Folktalefare · Hindu – How Night Came Into Being

Thursday 5/28/20  Folktalefare · Brazil – The Boy and the Violin

Thursday 5/21/20 Folktalefare · Sri Lanka (Ceylon) – The Story Of The Cobra’s Bite

Thursday 5/14/20 

Thursday 5/7/20 

Thursday 4/30/20

Thursday 4/23/20 

Thursday 4/16/20 

Friday 4/10/20 

Thursday 4/2/2 

Thursday 3/26/20 

Thursday 3/19/20 

for Thursday 3/12/20 posted 3/14/2 

Thursday 3/05/20

Thursday 2/27/20 

Thursday 2/20/2 

Thursday 2/13/20 

for Thursday 2/06/20 posted 2/1/20 

for Thursday 1/30/20 posted 2/1/20 

Thursday 1/23/20 

Thursday 1/16/20 

Thursday 1/09/20 posted 1/16/20 posted 1/16/20 

Thursday 1/02/20 posted 12/19/19 

for Thursday 12/26/19 posted 12/19/19 

for Thursday 12/19/19 posted 12/5/19 

for Thursday 12/12/19 posted 12/5/19 

12/5/19

for Thursday 11/28/19, posted 11/22/19 

Thursday 11/21/19 

Thursday 1/14/19 posted 1/15/19 

Thursday 11/7/19 

Thursday 10/31/19 

Thursday 10/24/19 (posted 10/25/19)

Thursday 10/17/19 

Thursday 10/10/19 

Thursday 10/03/19 

Thursday 9/26/19 

For Thursday 9/19/19 (posted 9/20/19) 

Thursday 9/12/19 

Thursday 9/5/19 

For Thursday 8/29/19 (posted 8/25/19) 

For Thursday, 8/22/19 (posted 8/25/19) 

for Thursday 8/15/19 (posted 8/16/19) 

Thursday 8/08/19 

for Thursday 8/1/19 (posted 7/28/19) 

Thursday 7/25/19 

Thursday 7/18/19 

Thursday 7/11/19 

Thursday 7/4/19 

Thursday 6/27/19 

for Thursday 6/20/19 (posted 6/9/19)

for Thursday 6/13/19 (posted 6/9/19) 

Thursday 6/6/19 

 for Thursday 5/3019 (Posted 5/16/19) 

for Thursday  5/23/19 (posted 5/16/19)

Thursday 5/16/19 

Thursday 5/9/19 

Thursday 5/2/19 

Thursday 4/25/19 

Thursday 4/18/19 

Thursday 4/11/19 

Thursday 4/4/19 

Thursday 3/28/19 

Thursday 3/21/19 

Monday 3/18/19 

Thursday 3/7/19 

Thursday 2/28/19 

Thursday 2/21/19 

Thursday 2/14/19 

Thursday 2/07/19 

Thursday 1/31/19 

Thursday 1/24/19 

Thursday 1/17/19 

Thursday 1/10/19 

Thursday 1/03/19 

Thursday 12/27/18 

Thursday 12/20/18 

Friday 12/14/18 

Thursday 12/6/18 

Thursday 11/29/18 

Thursday 11/22/18 

Thursday 11/15/18 

*The following ten tales were scheduled for the dates noted, but all posted 8/30/18 due to inaccessibility issues through early November 2018.

*Thursday 11/08/18

*Thursday 11/01/18

*Thursday 10/25/18

*Thursday 10/18/18

*Thursday 10/11/18

*Thursday 10/04/18

*Thursday 9/27/18

*Thursday 9/20/18

*Thursday 9/13/18

*Thursday 9/06/18

Thursday 8/30/18 

Thursday 8/23/18

Thursday 8/16/18

Monday 8/13/18

Thursday 8/2/18

Thursday 7/26/18

Thursday 7/19/18

Thursday 7/12/18

Thursday 7/5/18

Monday 7/2/18

Wednesday. 6/20/18

Thursday 6/14/18

Thursday, 6/7/18

Thursday 5/31/18

Thursday 5/24/18

Thursday 5/17/18

Sunday 5/13/18

Wednesday 5/2/18

Thursday 4/26/18

Thursday 4/19/18

Thursday 4/12/18

Thursday 4/5/18

Thursday 3/29/18

Thursday 3/22/18                                                          

Friday 3/16/18

Thursday 3/8/18                                                                                

Thursday 3/1/18                                                                                                                   

Thursday 2/22/18

Wednesday 2/14/18

Thursday 2/1/18

Thursday 1/25/18

Thursday 1/18/18

Thursday 1/11/18

Thursday 01/04/18

Thursday 12/28/17

Thursday 12/21/17

Thursday 12/14/17

Oops! Friday, 12/07/17

Thursday 11/30/17

for Thursday 11/23/17 (Posted on the 21st)

Thursday 11/16/17

Thursday 10/19/17 One for today, because it’s honey harvest season,two for the next two weeks because I’ll be on vacation (can you guess where?) and one for November 11th because I’ll still be on the returning plane and it’s “Indian Summer.”

Thursday 10/12/17

Thursday 10/5/17

Thursday 9/28/17

Thursday 9/21/17

Thursday 9/14/17

Thursday 9/07/17, in recognition of the Wasatch 100 Endurance run which starts tomorrow, this is a tale from the world renown distance running Tarahumara Indians of northern Mexico.

Tuesday 9/05/17 . . . because I as 75 miles out of town last Thursday before I realized I’d forgotten to post. Sorry!

Thursday 8/17/17 because there is a total solar eclipse next week, and a second entry (actually two tales) because I may not be back from eclipse chasing by next Thursday.

Thursday 8/17/17

Thursday 8/10/17

Thursday 8/3/17

Thursday 7/20/17

and you can hear Robert Browning’s poetic version here:

. . . and a second tale here as there will not be a new post next week.

Thursday 7/13/17

Thursday 7/6/17

Thursday 6/29/17

Thursday 6/22/17

Thursday 6/15/17

Thursday 6/08/17

Thursday 6/1/17

Thursday 5/25/17

Thursday 5/18/17

Thursday 5/11/17

Thursday 5/04/17

Thursday 4/27/17

Thursday 4/13/17 Two this week. Nothing new next week.

Thursday 4/13/17

Thursday 4/06/17

Thursday 3/30/17

Thursday 3/23/17

Thursday 3/16/17

Thursday 3/9/17

Thursday 3/2/17

Thursday 2/23/17

52-Friday 2/17/17

51-Thursday 2/9/17

50-Thursday 2/2/17

49-Thursday 1/26/17

48-Thursday 1/19/17

47-Thursday 1/12/17

46-Thursday 1/5/17

45-Thursday 12/29/16

44-Thursday 12/22/16

43-Thursday 12/15/16

42-Thursday 12/8/16

41-Thursday 12/1/16

40-Thursday 11/24/16

39-Thursday 11/17/16

38-Thursday 11/10/16

37-Thursday 11/03/16

36-Thursday 10/27/16

35-Thursday 10/20/16

34-Thursday 10/13/16

33-Thursday 10/06/16

32-Thursday 9/29/16

31-Thursday 9/22/16

30-Saturday 9/17/16

29-Tuesday 9/06/16

28-Thursday 9/01/16

27-Thursday 8/25/16

26-Thursday 8/18/16

25-Wednesday 8/17/16

24-Thursday 8/4/16

23-Thursday 7/28/16

22-Thursday 7/21/16

21-Thursday 7/14/16

20-Thursday 6/30/16.

19=Thursday 6/30/16 Second post. There will not be on next week.

18-Thursday 6/23/16

17-Thursday 6/16/16

16-Wednesday 6/1/16

15-Wednesday 6/1/16 (Second post today. There will not be on next week.)

14-Thursday 5/26/16

13-Thursday 5/19/16

12-Thursday 5/12/16

11-Thursday 5/5/16

10-Thursday 4/28/16

9-Thursday 4/21/16

8-Thursday, 4/14/16

7-Thursday, 4/07/16

6-Thursday, 3/24/16

5-Thursday, 3/24/16

4-Wednesday 3/16/16

3-Wednesday 3/16/16

2-Monday 3/7/16

1-Tuesday 2/23/16